home           calendar       club nights   membership      archive      special events

About the Gippsland Acoustic Music Club Inc

Formed in 1982, the Gippsland Acoustic Music Club is a Community organisation which aims to encourage acoustic music in the Gippsland region.

The Club supports both the development of local musicians skills as well as providing concert opportunities.

Acoustic music covers a broad spectrum of music, at the club you will hear at times, everything from folky guitar music to mellow blues, A cappella singing to jazz or music from other cultures - Celtic, Irish, African, Reggae. Austalian 'home grown' music is welcome too and local musicians often perform their own compositions.

Supper is held half way through the evening (everyone brings a plate to share) and this is a good opportunity to socialize and sometimes acquire a new CD for your collection from the musician performing.

Club nights are usually the first Sunday of the Month. This is an opportunity to hear music from local musicians as well as artists from overseas. This is usually held at the Tyers Hall and commences at 7.45pm.

You can join our Vocal Nosh sessions are held most months prior to the club night.

Our Calendar page has more details of these events.

We hold music camps twice a year - our Winter and Summer Music Camps - which are held at local, easily accessible camps around the Latrobe Valley, with costs kept to a minimum. Families are most welcome.

You can become a member of the club for a nominal yearly fee which entitles you to a monthly newsletter and reduced door prices. This membership is available on club nights or by mail.

The Music club has Committee meetings every month and an Annual General Meeting. It also holds Restaurant nights, Music camps and has an A Cappella group and a 'Tunes' group which both meet monthly at members' homes.





Club Contacts

Joan Griffiths

Vice President:
Barry Stuckey

Minutes Secretary:
Rod Holmes

Barb Brabets
03 5174 7903

Newsletter Editor & Email Circulation:
Nola Kirkpatrick

Ann-Marie Hammond,
Annie Pawley

Annie Pawley

Public Officer:
Barb Brabets

Committee Members:
Dos Chambers,
Brett Roberts,
Trevor Lade,
Michael James,
Mike Forwood


Postal Address:
Gippsland Acoustic Music Club Inc,
21 Hickox St
Traralgon 3844